top of page

Honoured Members

William "Billy" Smith

Inducted 2016: Member of Hockey Hall of Fame, 4 Stanley Cups with New York Islanders, Vezina Trophy, Jennings Trophy, 1st All-Star Team, MVP of All Star Game, Team Canada 1981, 1st goalie credited with scoring a goal in NHL.

Billy Smith.jpg

Perth Royals 1936 

 Inducted May 2016; inauguaral champs of Canadian-American League; 50 wins, 30 losses for .625 winning percentage;Royals' Frank Marrinette led league with 80 RBIs; Royals' Michael Sperrick won batting title with .360 average. 


Doug James

Inducted May 2017: Instrumental in the growth and success of the Perth Stingrays Aquatic Club since the early 1980s. Trained as an oficial to allow the Stingrays to host sanctioned events thereby allowing local swimmers to compete at home.

doug james photo.jpg

Ian Millar

Inducted 2018:10 Olympic Games,1 Olympic Silver,10 Pan Am Games,4 Pan Am Gold,4 Silver and 1 Bronze,12 time Canadian Show Jumping Champion,1988 and 1989 Show Jumping World Cup Champion,Member of 4 Sports Halls of Fame,Order of Canada


Tom Graham

Inducted 2018: Gym Teacher, coached PDCI Cross Country and Track & Field from 1961-2013,Coached PDCI Cross Country to 12 consecutive EOSSAA championships from 1965-1976,Helped re-establish Glen Tay Block Race in 1967, organised Perth Sap Run


Gene Chouinard

Inducted 2019: was the first coach of the Perth Blue Wings. He coached the franchise to 4 straight Ottawa Citizen Shields and 3 straight Ahearn Cups. In 1937/38, he coached the Blue Wings to the Eastern Canada Final for the Memorial Cup. He later found success coaching the Ottawa Senators of the Quebec Senior Hockey League.


Dawn Martin

Inducted 2023: Successful athletic career at PDCI winning an OFSAA silver medal in midget cross country (1997) and an OFSAA bronze medal in junior 1500m (1999). At St. Lawrence College (Brockville), she won an individual OCAA gold in cross country (2008) and a bronze at the CCAA national championship (2008). She also received an OCAA team bronze medal (2011) and two CCAA team gold medals (2010, 2011).


E. B. Code

Inducted 2023: An all-around athlete at Perth Collegiate and the first winner of the Glen Tay Block Race (1907). Not a teacher, he "gave freely of his time, knowledge and energy in the support of sport, particularly at PCI." As early as 1910, he began officiating lacrosse, basketball, track & field and football. From 1915 to the mid 1930s, he coached many different sports at PCI. He was also involved in community baseball, the Perth Junior Hockey Club and the Links O'Tay Golf Club.

E. B_edited.jpg

Dr. John H. Hardy

Inducted May 2016; principal of Perth Collegiate; borught football to PCI in 1923; head coach of PCI football team for 19 seasons; won 16 Lanark Championships; 5 straight championships from 1923 to 1928; undefeated 1926,1927,1928


Floyd Smith

Inducted 2017: 616 NHL games played with Boston,Detroit,Toronto & Buffalo; 1st Captain of the Sabres; Won 2 Calder Cups with Springfield; Won 3rd Calder as coach of Cinncinnati Swords; Coached Sabres to Stanley Cup Finals; Coach & GM of Toronto.


Perth & District Collegiate Institute Blue Devils 2013

Inducted May 2017: Captured the Gore Mutual Schoolgirl Provincial Curling Championship in 2013. Hailey Armstrong, Lindsay Bell, Audrey Wilson,Danika Thompson, Courtney Bell, Jeff Bell (coach).


Perth Blue Wings

Inducted 2018:Van Horne Shield Champion, Champion of combined Lanark & Upper Ottawa Valley Leagues, Champion of Ottawa Citizen Shield, Champion of Frank Aherne Cup, defeated Maritime & Quebec Champions,Memorial Cup Semi-Finalist


Dan Wicklum

Inducted 2019: played in the Canadian Football League for 4 seasons, with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers and the Calgary Stampeders, winning the Grey Cup in 1988. He a member of the Vanier Cup Champion, University of Guelph, in 1984.


Perth Midgets 1979

Inducted 2019: a youth baseball team that won the Golden Triangle Baseball Association and the Ontario Baseball Association’s Midget “E” Provincial Championship.   


Les Douglas

Inducted 2023: Led the Perth Blue Wings to the Eastern Canada Memorial Cup finals in 1937/38. Les spent parts of four seasons with the Detroit Red Wings winning the Stanley Cup in 1942/43. From 1939/40 to 1950/51, he played in the American Hockey League winning two Calder Cups. In the AHL, he was twice the leading scorer and was the MVP in 1949/50. He was also the MVP in the Quebec Senior Hockey League in 1952/53.

P5 Detroit Red Wings 1942-43 .jpg

Perth Midget "BB" Blue Wings 1999/2000

Inducted 2023: The Perth Midget "BB" Blue Wings had a very successful season. The Blue Wings represented the Ottawa District Women's Hockey Association at the Ontario Women's Hockey Association (OWHA) provincial championship in April 2000.  The Wings tied Kitchener, but defeated both Durham and Bluewater to advance to the finals against Sarnia. The Wings brought home the OWHA provincial gold medal with a   2 - 0 victory.

Perth Hockey 1999-2000 season small.jpg
bottom of page